Federal Government



Supreme Court

Executive Departments

The heads of these departments are members of the Cabinet and serve at the pleasure of the President.

Independent Regulatory Agencies

The Paperwork Reduction Act (1995) lists 19 enumerated ‘independent regulatory agencies.’  Heads of these agencies can only be removed for cause, and they are insulated fro presidential control to a significant degree.

  • CFTC – Commodity Futures Trading Commission
  • CFPB – Consumer Finance Protection Bureau
  • CPSC – Consumer Product Safety Commission
  • EEOC – Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
  • EPA – Environmental Protection Agency
  • FAA – Federal Aviation Adminstration
  • FCC – Federal Communications Commission
  • FDIC – Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
  • FED – Federal Reserve
  • FERC – Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
  • FMC – Federal Maritime Commission
  • FTC – Federal Trade Commission
  • NLRB – National Labor Relations Board
  • NRC – Nuclear Regulatory Commission
  • NTSB – National Transportation Safety Board
  • OSHRC – Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission
  • Postal Regulatory Commission
  • SEC – Security and Exchange Commission
  • STB – Surface Transportation Board

Independent Executive Agencies

These agencies are part of the Executive branch but exist outside of the federal executive departments.   The heads of these agencies serve at the pleasure of the President and can be removed without cause.